Country Railway Routes

Peebles Loop

plus the dolphinton, Penicuik and Polton Branch Lines

by Roger Darsley & Dennis Lovett

Peebles joined the railway network with the opening of the independent Peebles Railway in 1855. The Caledonian Railway arrived in the town in 1864, but prior to this the North British Railway had set out to protect its territory by building the line to Galashiels, which finally opened in 1866.

This resulted in a loop line off the Waverley route at Galashiels, rejoining it at Eskbank. The three branch lines covered in this volume were also connected to the Peebles Loop.



'This album is an attractive pictorial record of change which will appeal to railway historians. It may well interest many of the tourists now the key economic element in the community who have taken over from the tweed and textile industry which justified the original railways.'
(The Journal of the Friends of the National Railway Museum, No.165, Autumn 2018)

'This book is a good all-round effort, and more from this part of the world are eagerly awaited.' (HJ)
(Steam World, Issue 376, October 2018)

'[This album] provides comprehensive coverage of the main route, and to a lesser extent the three associated branch lines.... The photographs are almost universally of steam traction although a few diesel locomtives and DMUs are shown.' (JN)
(The Journal of The Stephenson Locomotive Society, Sept/Oct 2018, No.914, Vol.94)

Book Details

Roger Darsley & Dennis Lovett
Country Railway Routes
Middleton Press Ltd
28 July 2018
20 June 2024
240 x 174 mm
96 Pages
120 Photographs
Large Scale Maps
Other details of local history

Stations & Locations

Stations Photo
Galashiels 1-15
Clovenfords 16-17
Angling Club Halt 18
Thornielee 19-21
Walkerburn 22-27
Innerleithen 28-32
Cardrona 33-34
Peebles East 35-36, 38
Peebles 37, 39-46
Eddleston 47-49
Leadburn 50-54
Pomathorn 55-57
Rosslynlee Hospital Halt 58-59
Rosslynlee 60-62
Rosewell & Hawthornden 63-65
Bonnyrigg 66-68
Esk Valley Junction 69-70
Hardengreen Junction 71-73
Eskbank 74
Eskbank & Dalkeith 75-78
Dolphinton (CR) 79-84
Broomlee 85-88
Lamancha 91-93
Penicuik 94-98
Eskbridge 99-101
Auchendinny 102-104
Rosslyn Castle 105-109
Polton 110-113
Lasswade 114-117
Broomieknowe 118-120